When battles are raging all around you and within you, what you need is an anthem – and this is it! Courtesy of Skillet.

Often the battles we face in life are based on things we can recognise or see, such as illness, relationships, stress or money worries. But the greatest battle ever – whether we chose to acknowledge it or not – is the one being fought for our soul. The bible teaches that there is a supernatural battle going on – we might not be able to ‘see’ it in the same way as these other things, be we can definitely feel its effects!

“For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places”. (Ephesians 6:12)

Who is the enemy in this battle? It’s Satan – the enemy of our souls:

“Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour.” (1 Peter 5:8)

But with Jesus, we have the power to overcome, because He came to destroy to works of the devil. Jesus’ death and resurrection has sealed Satan’s fate. And He invites us all to overcome the enemy with Him through His power.

The song ‘Awake and alive’ is about this battle – we are at war with the world if we have given our lives to Jesus, but with Him we have the power to live and to stand our ground against the enemy.

“I’m at war with the world cause I ain’t never gonna sell my soul. I’ve already made up my mind – no matter what I can’t be bought or sold. When my faith is getting weak, and I feel like giving in, You breathe into me again.”

hey satan you lose

 

 

